2001 Award Winners

The Lynch Pendergast Medal

for the best essay on any topic in English literature (2,500 to 4,000 words)

Michael D. Lewis, COL 2001

“Negotiations of Power: Gender and Class Struggle in the Fiction of Charlotte Bronte”

The Ora Mary Pelham Poetry Prize

for the most outstanding poem or group of poems

Ilya Kaminsky, COL 2001

“Province of Gratitude”

Honorable Mentions: Angie Calcaterra, Seth McGuire, & Jacqueline Novak

The Quicksall Medal

for the best essay on Shakespearean drama

Christina Morin, COL 2002

“Twelfth Night: The Deconstruction of Romantic Love”

The Bernard M. Wagner Medal

for excellence in writing in any genre except drama (fiction, nonfiction and poetry)

Jacqueline Novak, COL 2004

“Billy McCoy”