2018 Award Winners

The Annabelle Bonner Medal

for short fiction that demonstrates technical skill and promise in the art of the short story or narrative

Maeher Grewal, COL 2018

“Sea Monsters”

The Lynch Pendergast Medal

for the best essay on any topic in the discipline of English (no longer than 5,000 words)

Samantha Kyung Lee, COL 2018

“Wet, But Not Water”

The Ora Mary Pelham Poetry Prize

for the most outstanding poem or group of poems

Lisa Tibbetts, GSAS 2018

“An English Remix”

The Quicksall Medal

for the best essay on Shakespearean drama

Mary Patricia Mulcahy, COL 2018

“’A disease of the soul’: Jealousy in The Anatomy of Melancholy and The Winter’s Tale.”

The Bernard M. Wagner Medal

for excellence in writing in any genre except drama (fiction, nonfiction and poetry)

Jacob R. Dyson, COL 2018

“The Metaphysics of Madness”