2019 Award Winners

The Annabelle Bonner Medal

for short fiction that demonstrates technical skill and promise in the art of the short story or narrative

Jubilee Johnson, COL 2019

“Genesis of a Griot”

The Lynch Pendergast Medal

for the best essay on any topic in the discipline of English (no longer than 5,000 words)

Min Ju Shin, COL 2019

“The Personal Becomes Political through Brechtian Devices in Caryl Churchill’s Vinegar Tom

The Ora Mary Pelham Poetry Prize

for the most outstanding poem or group of poems

Daniel Breen, GSAS 2019

“Still life on fragment (80-65 A.D.)”

The Quicksall Medal

for the best essay on Shakespearean drama

Narisa Buranasiri, COL 2020

“The Monstrous Birth of the ‘Racial Other:’ Examining the Relationship Between Othello and Iago’s ‘Othernesses’ in Shakespeare’s Othello

The Bernard M. Wagner Medal

for excellence in writing in any genre except drama (fiction, nonfiction and poetry)

Jack Brownfield, COL 2020

“A Performance”