2022 Award Winners

The Annabelle Bonner Medal

for short fiction that demonstrates technical skill and promise in the art of the short story or narrative

Jennifer Martínez Sánchez, COL 2022

“Illusion of Home”

The Lynch Pendergast Medal

for the best essay on any topic in the discipline of English (no longer than 5,000 words)

Rachael Johnson, COL 2022

“The Necropolitics of Globalization as Depicted by Ruth Ozeki in A Tale for the Time Being

The Ora Mary Pelham Poetry Prize

for the most outstanding poem or group of poems

Rachel Thomas, COL 2022

“Living Room Sestina”

The Quicksall Medal

for the best essay on Shakespearean drama

Rachael Johnson, COL 2022

“William Shakespeare’s Racialized Depiction of the Jewish Identity in The Merchant of Venice

The Bernard M. Wagner Medal

for excellence in writing in any genre except drama (fiction, nonfiction and poetry)

Emily Hardy, SFS 2023

“Galaxies Apart”