Congratulations to our Writing Contest Award Winners

Posted in News Story

The English Department announces the 2008 winners of

Awards and Prizes in English

The Annabelle Bonner Medal

for short fiction that demonstrates technical skill and promise in the art of the short story or narrative
Anna Kasunic, COL 2008

“RayRay Finds a New Friend”

Honorable Mentions: Andra Mocanu & Allison Dunlap

The Lynch Pendergast Medal

for the best essay on any topic in English literature ( 2,500 to 4,000 words)
Raymond Tolentino, COL 2009

“Intoxication as Trope: Deconstructing the Gothic”

The Ora Mary Phelam Poetry Prize

for the most outstanding poem or group of poems

Anna Kasunic, COL 2008


Honorable Mention: Jeff Bakkensen

The Quicksall Medal

for the best essay on Shakespearean drama
Shyam Kannan, COL 2009

“Chiroscuro and Othello”

The Bernard M. Wagner Medal

for excellence in writing in any genre except drama (fiction, nonfiction and poetry)
Walker Loetscher, COL 2010

“Regular Days”