Congratulations to the 2024 Creative Writing Awards Finalists!

Posted in Announcement  |  Tagged , ,

Dr. Phil Sandick, Kirit Minhas, Clayton Kincade, Cassandra Leahy, Genevieve Jobson, Josephine Wu, Maya Kominsky, Alison Karki, and Ollie Shirley smile for a picture beneath the names of our finalists projected on a large screen.

Students, faculty, and staff gathered on April 30, 2024 in Copley Formal Lounge to celebrate our Creative Writing Awards finalists. We’d like to share their names here as well as feature the digital publication, New Points North 2024, their prize-winning works!

2024 Creative Writing Award Winners

Bernard M. Wagner Medal 

Winner: Genevieve Jobson for “Sunday”

Runners Up:

Caroline Chou for “elegy for a neon rooftop”

Alison Karki for “Language Lessons from my Grandmother”

Annabelle Bonner Medal 

Winner: Josephine Wu for “Shark Body”

Honorable Mentions:

Cassandra Leahy for “The Jonathans”

Ollie Shirley for “My Brothers Keeper”

Lynch Pendergast Medal

Winner: Maya Kominsky for “History Repeating”

Second Place: Kirit Minhas for “Contrasting Derivations of Sovereignty”

Ora Mary Pelham Poetry Prize 

Winner:  Clayton Kincade for “A Sonnet to my Scottish Forefathers”, in “Other boys”