2009 Award Winners

The Annabelle Bonner Medal

for short fiction that demonstrates technical skill and promise in the art of the short story or narrative

Sean Croft, SFS 2009

“Report on the Homomorine”

Alessandra Rivell, COL 2009

“The Baba au Rhum Incident Revisited”

Honorable Mentions: Rob Begin and Shyam Kannan

The Lynch Pendergast Medal

for the best essay on any topic in English literature ( 2,500 to 4,000 words)

Alexander Haddad, Col 2009

“‘The Chutnification of History:’ Memory, identity, and ‘what-leaks-in’ in Salman Rushdie’s Midnight’s Children”

The Ora Mary Pelham Poetry Prize

for the most outstanding poem or group of poems

Laura Brienza, COL 2010

“Beautiful Storms: Female Movements through Space and Time”

The Quicksall Medal

for the best essay on Shakespearean drama

Victoria Fosdal, COL 2010

“The Al-Hamlet Summit: Sparking the Feminist Bomb”

The Bernard M. Wagner Medal

for excellence in writing in any genre except drama (fiction, nonfiction and poetry)

Elizabeth Weedon Sinden, COL 2012

“The Nuclear Power Plant”