2020 Award Winners

The Annabelle Bonner Medal

for short fiction that demonstrates technical skill and promise in the art of the short story or narrative

William Hockaday, COL 2020


The Lynch Pendergast Medal

for the best essay on any topic in the discipline of English (no longer than 5,000 words)

Katherine Sargent, COL 2020

“Vermont’s Imprint on Kipling’s Animal Tales”

The Ora Mary Pelham Poetry Prize

for the most outstanding poem or group of poems

Christopher Stein, SFS 2020

“Triptych at Wulai”

The Quicksall Medal

for the best essay on Shakespearean drama

Jack Brownfield, COL 2020

“The Surprising Pragmatism of Richard II”

The Bernard M. Wagner Medal

for excellence in writing in any genre except drama (fiction, nonfiction and poetry)

Melina Asteriadis, COL 2022

“My Life”